Dundee Green Circular

Much of my training recently has been runs to work and back, in an effort to incorporate hills and trails into that training, I have used the Green Circular Route in Dundee, specifically around Camperdown and Templeton parks.

The Green Circular Route is a cycle route surrounding Dundee, about 27 miles in length. It’s a mix of road and trail, with the trail being generally easy underfoot. The North section of the route is hillier with the South section following the river and being relatively flat. The route is used for the Dundee Adventure Marathon and Half Marathon.

Training on the route made me keen to run the full circuit and a child free day off work gave me the opportunity on Friday. I’d done a couple of hard runs the day before, so would be running the distance on tired legs.

I started at Invergowrie, picking up the circuit at the underpass and began the gentle climb through the technology park to Charleston and the underpass at the Kingsway. Entering Camperdown Park the route climbs over the next couple of miles, I passed a couple of runners doing hill reps at this point.

The route crosses into Templeton woods and on to the slightly more technical trails. After a mile or so the route leaves the trails and joins roads for a few miles, but affords a fantastic view of the Sidlaws.

20140413-101420.jpg

Following the road for a couple of miles, the route then joins another path and winds along past Trottick and other reminders of Dundee’s industrial and textile past, including the viaduct at Fintry

20140413-102135.jpg

The route follows the Dighty Burn past Douglas, Claypotts and Barnhill before dropping into Monifieth, under another viaduct.

20140413-102835.jpg

The route follows through the streets of Monifieth before crossing the railway line and onto the Riverside.

20140413-103228.jpg
From here, it’s a long flat run back to Invergowrie; for me it was into the teeth of a strong, energy sapping wind. I felt my pace falling off slightly due to the wind and the tiredness in my legs from the previous days run. The is the most beautiful part of the course, as it runs along the golden sands of Broughty Ferry. I detoured past the restricted area of the docks onto the main road, by this point, I had adopted the ‘ultra shuffle’ as I made my way towards the Tay Bridge and the detour past the building/demolition works going on.

As I passed the Discovery, I decided to run into Tesco to collect some Yop! Yoghurt drink, before rejoining the route and passing the monument for the Tay Bridge Disaster

20140413-110231.jpg

This was the home straight with the last couple of miles remaining and I kept going for the end, finishing and feeling good back at my car.

On Saturday morning, I ran Parkrun with my son, he was desperate to beat his PB, but a combination of a chesty cough and the strong wind defeated him. For me it took my mileage over the three days to 41 miles, 12 on Thursday, 26 on Friday and 3 on Saturday.

I am a police sergeant with a strong interest in policing public order, both professionally and academically. I love ultra running and seeking new challenges

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

The Dragon’s Back
Race DayJune 22nd, 2015
West Highland Way Race
The Big DayJune 21st, 2014
The big day is here.
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
